Hi,
The semantics of conf-import is simple, if the configuration database is non-empty, the
force flag is required,
because the operation can cause data loss. This behavior was designed before +nopurge was
introduced.
If +nopurge is specified, the existing configuration database isn't purged before the
import itself.
Thus, the new configuration contents are "appended" to the existing ones.
Daniel
On 10/24/26 21:28, Billiam Crashkopf wrote:
Hi,
I'm seeking some clarity over the semantics of 'knotc conf-import'. I'm
using
v3.6.1, specifically. When using the +nopurge filter with an existing
configuration database, the operation fails without the use of the -f (force)
option. I'm unclear on the intended semantics. Does +nopurge merge
configuration in the database with settings imported from the file, or does it
just skip the import altogether? Why is the force option required?
$ knotc -f conf-import /usr/local/etc/knot/knot.conf +nopurge
error: use force option to modify/overwrite the existing destination and ensure
the server is not running!
Thanks,
B.C.
--